Five more states to roll out intra-state e-way bill

Tuesday, April 24th, 2018, 03:12:54 AM IST

The central government on Monday said that five more states — Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Puducherry — will roll out intra-state e-way bills from Wednesday.

According to a Ministry of Finance statement, with the latest addition, the total number of states implementing e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods will rise to 17.

Earlier, encouraged by the success of its inter-state implementation, the e-Way bill system for intra-state movement of goods was implemented for Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Kerala from April 15.

In Karnataka, it was implemented along with nationwide inter-state implementation on April 1.

“E-Way Bills are getting generated successfully and till April 22, 2018 more than 1.84 crore e-Way Bills have been successfully generated which includes more than 22 lakh e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods,” the statement said.

The government said that with the roll-out of the e-way bill system in these states, trade and industry is expected to be further facilitated in terms of transport of goods, thereby eventually paving the way for a nationwide single e-way bill system.

Under the GST regime, an e-way bill needs to be generated and carried for movement of all goods valued at over Rs 50,000.