BSP & SP Leaders to Announce Poll-Share Today

Saturday, January 12th, 2019, 11:35:03 AM IST

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati and Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav buried the hatchet and decided to join forces against the Modi-BJP government at the Centre.

Lok Sabha ticket contenders in both parties are eagerly waiting for the alliance to begin their seat-share preparations.

Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav are scheduled to hold a joint press conference today. According to political sources, both parties will share 37 Lok Sabha seats each.

This BSP and SP alliance comes 25 years after Mulayam Singh Yadav and Kanshi Ram joined hands to stop BJP during Vajpayee’s regime.

Political analysts have observed that SP thrives largely on votes of Yadavs and Muslims, while Dalits are the base of BSP. Though the alliance will become the first choice of Muslims, many Yadavs who are loyal to SP but would not like to vote for BSP may instead go for BJP.

We will have to wait and observe the turn of events after SP-BSP conduct their first joint press meet together today.